I’ll say this about Phil Mickelson: The man knows how to make a splash. Big Lefty made his 2017 debut on Thursday at the CareerBuilder Challenge where he doubles as the tournament ambassador.

jerry-p-sager

Mickelson, who hasn’t played since October and underwent two sports hernia surgeries in the off season, shot an impressive 4-under 68 and is just four strokes off the lead.

He carded five birdies and a bogey on the day and also rocked a logo of himself on his rain jacket. The likeness is of him leaping in the air at the 2004 Masters, which was his first major championship. Here’s a closer look.

Mickelson said that, all things considered, Thursday’s 68 was a success.

“I thought it was phenomenal,” said Mickelson. “I struck it horrible, but I scored out of my mind. So I’m very happy with it. My first round of golf was Saturday, and I’ve been able to work out just the last two weeks. In the last three months, I haven’t been able to do much, but the last two weeks I’ve been able to work out, been practicing for a week, game is rusty, but body feels good.

“And there’s no better place to learn and to get better than to come out here on these great golf courses and put it to the test. Around here you can get away with some mistakes, and I was able to salvage a few pars with up-and-downs, so it doesn’t beat you up too bad. It’s a perfect place to start the year, and it’s fun for me to be involved with the event and fun for me to be able to play it.”

For More Information:-  Kyle Porter

Leave a Reply

